¡ChivaHermano! Elige otro país o región para ver contenido específico del equipo más querido de México.

Chivas celebrates Championship week!

05/05/2023 12:00 / Javier Quezada

May is an important and emotional month for Club Deportivo Guadalajara. Every time this date arrives, our beloved Chivas are about to celebrate one more year of life, but it also means that it is time to remember several of the Champion of Champions titles won by the team, those that contributed to forge the greatness and winning identity of the institution, with which it confirmed its absolute dominance of Mexican soccer in the last century.

El Rebaño Sagrado was proclaimed the absolute winner of the 1956-57 campaign on May 5, 1957 at the Ciudad de los Deportes, after defeating Zacatepec 2-1 thanks to goals by Crescencio 'Mellone' Gutiérrez and Salvador 'Chava' Reyes; the coach was Javier de la Torre.

The second Champion of Champions trophy was achieved in the 1958-59 season on May 2 against the same rival, by the same score and in the same venue; 'Chava' Reyes was again the scorer and the other goal was scored by Sabás Ponce. In the absence of coach Arpad Fekete on the bench, who had to arrange some personal matters, Juan Jasso took over as coach.

On May 7, but in 1961, Guadalajara lifted its fourth Campeón de Campeones crown, after defeating Tampico by the minimum difference at CU's Estadio Olímpico Universitario, with goals by Javier 'Cabo' Valdivia and the emerging technical direction of Jesús 'Chuco' Ponce.

The red and white note
- Las Chivas Rayadas del Guadalajara are the team with the most Champion of Champions trophies in our country, having won it on 7 occasions: 1956-57, 1958-59, 1959-60, 1960-61, 1963-64, 1964-65 and 1969-70; the latter was quite a feat, as on that occasion the Rebaño won the League-Cup-Champions' Cup triplet (having won the League and Cup, they were automatically awarded the Champion of Champions).


Position Teams Matches Points
6 4 8
7 4 7
8 4 7
9 4 6
10 4 5

  • US partners