¡ChivaHermano! Elige otro país o región para ver contenido específico del equipo más querido de México.

January 3 is a Memorable day in the history of Chivas.

03/01/2024 13:04 / Enrique Noriega

It was on January 3, 1957, when Guadalajara's trophy cabinets began to fill, because after a lot of hard work and several complicated moments, the Chiverío lifted its first league title against Irapuato, which marked the beginning of a golden era, full of success and which gave way to the birth of the only true 'Campeonísimo' of Mexican Soccer.

The extraordinary performance in 1956-1957

With Donaldo Ross at the helm, Chivas became a team that dominated its rivals both in soccer and in numbers. The figures for that campaign were more than outstanding: 47 goals scored in 24 games, while only 22 were conceded.

In addition, Crescencio 'Mellone' Gutiérrez was the scoring champion with 19 goals.

The night of January 3, 1957

Chivas received Irapuato in the antepenultimate match of the tournament and a win was enough to win the Mexican Soccer Championship. On that historic night, the match was quite complicated, because despite trying in every possible way, the red and white goal was not forthcoming. The referee even disallowed a goal by 'Jamaicón' Villegas for an alleged foul by 'Mellone' Gutiérrez.

It was in the final stretch of the match when a header by Don 'Chava' Reyes brought the fans who attended the Estadio Felipe Martínez Sandoval (Parque Oblatos) to their feet, as after a venomous cross by Pedro Nuño, the historic Rebaño attacker sent the ball into the back of the net to give Guadalajara its first league title.

The protagonists of the first league title

The team that achieved this first great success for Guadalajara, which also left behind the 'Ya Merito' period, was formed by: Jaime 'Tubo' Gómez, Pedro 'Chato' Nuño, Guillermo 'Tigre' Sepúlveda, José 'Jamaicón' Villegas, Juan 'Bigotón' Jasso, Francisco 'Panchito' Flores, Isidoro 'Chololo' Díaz, Salvador 'Chava' Reyes, Crescencio 'Mellone' Gutiérrez, Sabás Ponce and Raúl 'Pina' Arellano; Ángel Vázquez with 14 appearances, Tomás Balcázar with 4 and Sergio Pacheco Otero with 2; the coach of that squad was Donald Ross.


Position Teams Matches Points
6 4 8
7 4 7
8 4 7
9 4 6
10 4 5

  • US partners